Skip to content

Thing #9 – eBooks & eReaders

June 30, 2012

ImageAs I type this post, I have a Barnes & Noble Nook Color from my library that I am becoming familiar with this summer.  My district purchased several of them last year, and my goal is to get them in the hands of students for the 2012-13 school year.  Personally, I have not yet converted to an eReader yet, so this is a learning process for me.  I think the actual selecting, downloading and reading of books is simple enough, but when combined with all the behind-the-scenes bureaucracy that schools must go through, it makes the prospect of eReading a bit more difficult to navigate.  If I have a student or teacher who wants a certain eBook that I don’t currently have in that format, as of yet I can’t just order it on the spot.  I’m hoping the internal processes will catch up to the technology at some point.

Although I’m not feeling as proficient on the Nook as I want to be, I do feel pretty comfortable with other devices.  I use my laptop (and now tablet) to read eBooks from a few different platforms, including OverDrive (from both Mid-Hudson and Questar).  I have also checked out eBooks from the New York Public Library, which has a great eBook collection.  Thanks to a long commute, I am an audiobook junkie.  I have recently started using OverDrive with my mobile phone, and download e-audiobooks.

I also checked out SubText, which seems to have alot of capabilities built into it.  I was not totally convinced on the ease of use factor, as I had some trouble trying to purchase a book, but that could be that I was on my husband’s iPad (although I was signed in to all of my accounts, not really sure what happened).  It reminded me a bit of Shelfari and GoodReads, but maybe more education focused.

I think the biggest difficulty with eBooks right now is the ever-changing landscape about them.  Licensing/copyright issues seem to change on almost a weekly basis, and from format to format.  I try my best to keep up with all these changes on a macro level, but I’m learning to be okay with mastering what I work with on a daily basis.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

