Skip to content

Reflections

June 30, 2012

The first course I took in library school required students to complete several modules in a course very similar to Cool Tools.  The course was designed by Helene Blowers with the Charlotte Mecklenburg Library.  We were required to set up a blog, explore a few of the modules (all though not all 23), and blog about our experiences.  Although it was a great way to learn, it was a bit overwhelming when combined with all the other information being thrown at us during that “boot camp” week. 

Although the format and several of the technologies we studied were the same as the ones I studies a few years ago, I got so much more out of the Cool Tools course.  Because the course is geared to school librarians, it was great to look at something and answer the question “how will this help my students/teachers/school community”?  With technology changing so quickly, this course could be repeated several times over without running out of topics to cover. 

I know that I will be incorporating many of the things I learned into my library next year, whether it be an organizational tool that I use, or a technology that I integrate into my instruction.  I also want to try to offer something like this to my faculty, maybe a “featured website/technology of the month”.  We’ll see how that goes. 

This has been a great opportunity to me.  Thanks Dee for offering it, and thanks Polly for teaching it!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 2, 2012 3:31 am

    That’s really interesting that some of the original 23things program was included in your library school ‘boot camp’. Thanks so much for writing a final reflection post. Really appreciate the feedback on the project. Congrats on finishing!! Hope you have a great summer.

Leave a Reply

