Skip to content

Thing #8 – Databases & Search Tools

May 6, 2012

This is such a timely module for me.  May 1st was the deadline to turn in our database requests to Questar SLS, and I was planning to change a few of our selections.  Throughout the course of the year, I trialed Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context, and it was very useful for several projects that were done this year.  My faculty gave me a lot of positive feedback, and we ended up adding the database in January.  In looking at databases for next year, I took a look at Gale American History and Biography in Context.  After again getting positive feedback from faculty, we ended up adding those. 

Also, I am working with our 7th grade classes on a joint report with ELA, science, and math.  The students have to select a famous scientist or mathematician, find two sources to research them, and do a five minute presentation as their chosen scientist.  It should be a fun project!  We used the biography section of Facts on File Science Online to help the students choose their scientist, so that was an easy first source.  But because I don’t have a biography database right now, finding a credible resource for all the students was a bit of a challenge.  This is also the type of class that you can’t really set loose on Google (although a few will try), and any kind of research requires a good amount of structure. 

I now have two great resources to teach them for their second source – SweetSearch and InstaGrok.  I had not heard of either of them, and they are both great resources.  I have had fun modelling a search for my students, and I’m not quite sure which one I like better.  With its simple, Google-like interface, SweetSearch is a nice alternative for kids who just want a simple search box and a list of results.  InstaGrok is so visual, I’m thinking that it will really appeal to this age group.  I’m not sure which one I’ll use, I want the teacher to weigh in on that, but I’m really glad to have some alternatives to Google. 

As a side note, I was at the SSL Conference in Binghamton this past Friday.  I heard Joyce Valenza’s keynote presentation and also attended her workshop on curation.  The sheer amount of different tools that she uses in her library is quite amazing, and very inspiring. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

