Skip to content

Thing#5 – Social Bookmarking & Curation

March 18, 2012

This is a very timely topic to explore for me.  Although I have been using social bookmarking for a few years now, I have not really forayed into the curation tools mentioned in this week’s post.  I started out using Delicious, and then migrated my stuff over to Diigo when the flap over Delicious being sold by Yahoo was going on.  I like both of them, but I like some of Diigo’s features that at the time Delicious didn’t have (text highlighting was a big one).  I don’t really use it to explore what other people are saving, so I started following Joyce Valenza and Heather Braum and joined the Teacher Librarian group.

As far as curation goes, I just joined Pinterest about two weeks ago, before I even had a chance to sit down and look at this post in depth.  As a matter of fact, I think I will blame Pinterest for not getting my work done in a more timely fashion – I can lose track of time very quickly on Pinterest.  But what an easy way to keep track of things you’ve seen on the Internet, with no more than a few clicks.  I explored a few of the library links for Pinterest, and I think I’m going to do something with my new book list with Pinterest.  I really like what Kelly Jensen did linking Goodreads and Pinterest – check it out here.

I don’t really have experience with content aggregators, but I had alot of fun with Joyce Valenza’s #tlchat.  I’m not sure exactly how I would use that, but it seems like a very nice finished product.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2012 12:37 am

    Thanks for sharing Kelly Jensen’s pinterest boards. I guess I was following her, but hadn’t looked carefully at her links. Love the board that includes their booklists: http://pinterest.com/catagator/ya-booklists/

  2. April 16, 2012 12:31 am

    (Just tried to leave a comment on Thing 7, but something wacky happened & it disappeared. The main point was WOW! great job with getting such buyin on ggl docs! )

Leave a Reply

