Skip to content

End of one journey, beginning of a new one

December 18, 2010
Photo by Flickr user jayneandd

I AM DONE WITH CLASSES!!!  Yes, I used all caps on purpose, the digital equivalent of shouting from the rooftops!

I started classes at Syracuse in July of 2009, but this journey started long ago.  It started at the preschool table of Your Home Public Library, where I have very early memories of looking at the books for children on a low table while my parents browsed for books.  It continued in the children’s room of the same library, when I was old enough to proudly sign my very own library card.  And it was still alive when I was a senior in high school, talking with the library director about being a librarian, and how you become one.

After I got my bachelor’s degree, my journey was on hold for a bit.  I started working full-time, got married, bought a house, had a baby (then another, then another!), and moved around a few times for my husband’s career.  During that time, I think my passion for finding information for people was always there – I would find information for family members, help my husband with research, and even volunteered at a public library for a couple years.  The dream of becoming a librarian never went away though, and I’m so happy that I’ve been able to pursue it.

Photo by Flickr user JayRaz

So as I say goodbye to my time as a library school student, I say hello to being a full-fledged librarian.  I’m ready to start applying for jobs, and keeping my fingers crossed that some start coming up in this area.

Here’s my electronic portfolio if you’re interested in taking a peek.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

