Skip to content

Fall 2010

October 4, 2010

Wow, has it really been almost 2 months since my last post?  Time flies when you’re having fun extremely busy, doesn’t it?

After my summer classes finished up, I spent a lovely week at the shore with my family.  Fall classes started up two days after we got home.  This semester, I’m technically taking three classes:  Information Management in School Libraries, and two sections of School Library Practicum.

The management class is very interesting, covering topics such as budgets, personnel management, collections/acquisitions, etc.  One of the textbooks is a compilation of journal articles, most of them written by practicing school librarians, and I’m enjoying reading it.

The class for my practica is a little more demanding than I thought it would be.  It entails a weekly discussion, which is not a problem, but also requires completing an electronic portfolio.  The first weekly discussion also dealt with the NY certification exam that school librarians have to take, which practically makes me break out in hives just typing it.

Anyway, I’m doing my elementary practicum at a K-5 school in a nearby small city.  It’s been a great experience, and I feel like I’m learning more and more every day.  I get my first chance to teach classes on my own this week, and will be doing storytime lessons for UPK and K.  The little ones are usually alot of fun, so I’m hoping it goes well.

I will try to post on a more regular basis, there has really been alot of good things going on this semester so far that I want to blog about……just not enough time.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

