Skip to content

Trouble Ticket #407513

July 4, 2010

Trouble Ticket – An issue tracking system (also trouble ticket system, support ticket or incident ticket system) is a computer software package that manages and maintains lists of issues, as needed by an organization. Issue tracking systems are commonly used in an organization’s customer support call center to create, update, and resolve reported customer issues, or even issues reported by that organization’s other employees.

These two words can strike fear in a distance learning student, and I’ve managed to avoid any Internet/computer problems during my distance studies thus far.  My luck came to a screeching halt this week, when I couldn’t get my computer to do anything.  After taking a day to figure out whether it was my computer, my wireless router, or my Internet connection, I finally figured out that it was my Internet connection.  After two phone calls, I finally got to a human being who could help me with it.  Sadly, it was not something that could be fixed over the phone, so the tech opened the afore-mentioned trouble ticket.

I finally got back up and running last night, but this whole week was basically shot.  I was able to print out a few things to do my readings, but everytime I tried to respond, send email, or anything else, my connection shut down.  Thank goodness I didn’t have any major assignments due, but being unable to participate in the discussions for my courses was really frustrating. 

Warning to aspiring distance students – you will rely heavily on your computer and a decent Internet connection – have a plan b ready for both.

image from flickr user kirk lau
trouble ticket definition from wikipedia.com

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

