Skip to content

A truly "inter"-national library

July 4, 2010

I’ve always been interested in libraries, and going to library school has heightened this interest.  I’m on the lookout for articles about libraries, subscribe to library blogs, and visit libraries when I travel.  Last night, my husband was watching a show on the History Channel.  I wasn’t really paying attention (as is often the case when he has picked a tv show), but my ears perked up when I heard them mention a library.  This particular library is unique, because it is built on the US-Canadian border.  Since it was pretty late, I must’ve fallen asleep and didn’t hear much more than that.

I was intrigued by this idea, and wanted to find out more information about this library.  A Google search lead me to the Haskell Free Library and Opera House – I was further intrigued by the idea of a library and an opera house.  The building itself is a historic treasure, and both the library and the opera house seem to be wonderful resources within their community.  The library has the border line painted on its floors – library visitors are able to walk freely throughout the library, although they must exit the same way they came in. 

I have fond childhood memories of summer travels in and through Vermont – I think I’ll have to add Vermont to my list of places to visit, and swing up to Derby Line. 

image from flickr user soul of beer
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

