Skip to content

IST 611 – week 5 discussion

June 22, 2010

Question 1:

In Mary Ann Bell’s “Celebrating Communicating: Blogging Redux”, she itemizes people’s favorite blogs and why they follow them. What are some of your favorite teacher, librarian or educational technology blogs and why do you follow them?

Answer: I follow several library/school library related blogs. A few of my favorites include The Hedgehog Librarian, Awful Library Books, A Fuse #8 Production on schoollibraryjournal.com, The Blue Skunk Blog by Doug Johnson, librarian.net, the AASL blog, Information Wants To Be Free, and The “M” Word – Marketing Libraries. I also follow the iSchool Blog, and I look forward to the comics and book reviews from Unshelved.

I follow them to keep current on different issues in librarianship in general, and school libraries/education specifically. I also follow some of them because they are engaging writers, and I enjoy reading the narratives they share.

Although Bell compares blogs to list-servs, and cites the advantages that list-servs have over blogs, I have to say that I much prefer blogs over most list-servs (LM_Net included). The information and response time of LM_Net is praiseworthy, but I don’t like the format. I hate having to sift through the same message multiple times, as some messages carry over in a cummulative fashion. And I sometimes find the sheer amount of list-serv emails to be overwhelming at times – it is much easier to ignore my Google Reader than it is to have to sort through all the unread list-servs that occupy my inbox.

I do have to say I enjoyed both of Bell’s articles. Exploring the blogs she listed is now on my “to-do list”.

Bell, M.A.  (2008).  Celebrating communications:  blogging redux.  MultiMedia & Internet@schools, 15(2), 36-38.

Bell, M.A.  (2008).  Celebrating communications:  to blog or not to blog?  MultiMedia & Internet@schools, 15(1), 38-40.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2010 3:00 am

    I am really glad that you have some good blogs to follow! I don't know if you've read my blog entry, but I only follow one and it's kind of a tongue-in-cheek library one. I hope that after reading all of our classmates' favorite blogs this week I can make my list a little longer.

    While I've never used a list-serv before, I understand their basic concept and it does seem like blogs streamline the process a lot. I really like the idea of trackback and pingback…although I haven't quite figured how to use them yet!

  2. June 23, 2010 1:46 pm

    I agree, Maureen — I much prefer blogs to listservs for discussion. I would rather go to the place when I want discussion than have it keep streaming into my email inbox when I might not have time for it right now.

    Good list of blogs! I've seen several of them, but don't follow regularly. I'll have to check out the others!

    [BTW: nice style template! tee hee!}

Leave a Reply

