Skip to content

My Favorite Book – Class of 2010

June 5, 2010

This semester I am taking IST611, Information Technologies in Education Organizations.  It’s a great class so far, and the technologies we will cover this semester include blogging, social bookmarking, podcasting, and gaming.  Learning how to use these technologies in a school setting is very exciting!  The exposure I got to many Web 2.0 technologies last summer for IST511 prepared me well for this course.

One of the assignments for this class is a collaborative technology project in a K-12 school setting.  I am doing my project in conjunction with my 7-12 fieldwork, which I am doing at my local high school.  I wanted to do some kind of a digital yearbook project with the graduating seniors, but wasn’t really sure what direction to take that in.  One of my first days of fieldwork, I noticed the library assistant working on a display of the favorite books of the graduating seniors.  This has been the inspiration for my project – seniors will digitally record a review of their book, and the review will then be added to the library webpage.

I was a bit discouraged going in to school today, as the librarian I’m working with has emailed me updates.  No one had signed up to do their review yet.  I was worried that this wasn’t going to work out, that it was a bad choice, etc.  But today I got my first review!!  And several other students are interested in doing theirs next week.  Which is a good thing, because the school year is winding down for high school students, and they only have about one week left.  I was concerned about the timing for this, but I think it will work out.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. shkowalsky permalink
    June 9, 2010 2:19 am

    Does your host school use Destiny? If so, my fieldwork supervisor and I figured out a way to link video reviews of books to the book's record in the library catalog. The high schoolers we used it with liked that they could see a peer review of a book that showed up in their searches!

  2. June 10, 2010 4:55 am

    That is a really cool idea! They don't use Destiny, but I'll have to ask if their system (OPALS) can do that. That's a great suggestion – thanks!

Leave a Reply

