Skip to content

A new destination added to my "bucket list"

June 3, 2010

If you’ve ever had the pleasure of reading one (or all) of the Betsy-Tacy books by Maud Hart Lovelace, you’ll know why I want to visit Mankato, MN.  No offense to Mankato, but it’s not really a typical vacation hotspot.  But this series has been a part of my life for more years than I want to count.  I re-read the series several times in my youth, and recently read them again when I bought the complete set for my daughter on eBay.  (As a matter of fact, my daughter just mentioned today that if she ever has a boy and girl, she’s going to name them Elizabeth (Betsy) and Joseph (Joe) – that made my day.  Hopefully her future husband will be accomodating.)

Anyway, I digress.  The whole point of this entry is a news headline I came across on the American Library Association’s website.  Maud Hart Lovelace’s childhood home, and that of her best friend, have been designated Literary Landmarks.  I have followed their restoration on http://www.betsy-tacysociety.org/ from time to time, and it’s very gratifying to see that these old homes which figured so prominently in these beloved stories are being preserved. 

PS:  If you’ve never read any of these books, you should!!  Check out your local library, or visit Barnes & Noble – these books are truly American classics.

Thumbnail image from http://www.barnesandnoble.com/

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2010 12:20 pm

    Thanks for the news. I loved these books also. I didn't read them as a child, but as a young mother with my daughter and we loved them. I'll have to check out the website. Good job keeping up your blog. I am impressed.

  2. June 10, 2010 4:53 am

    Thanks for your comment – it's always good to hear from a fellow Betsy-Tacy fan! I am certainly enjoying my daughter reading these, and talking about them with her.

  3. March 27, 2012 7:21 pm

    Melanie here! I enjoyed this piece, please email me–I have a question about your blog. MelanieLBowen[at]gmail[dot]com

Leave a Reply

