Skip to content

SLMS 2010

May 12, 2010

Subtitle:  My First Library Conference EVER!~

I am so glad I was able to attend the SLMS 2010 Conference.  It was held April 30-May 1 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Albany.  I shared a room with a fellow SU student, and we had fun chatting ’til midnight.  It kind of reminded me of boot camp, but in much more luxurious surroundings.  It was great to meet so many school librarians, and talk about school library issues all weekend.  As always, I found the veteran librarians were very generous with conference tips and advice, and also saving seats at meals. 

Sadly, the eight hundred pound gorilla in the room throughout the whole conference was the sad situation playing out in many schools across the state, the elimination of school librarians.  Everyone had news of positions that were cut, librarians that now work in several schools, and schools without librarians.  It is not a great time to be coming out of school, but good to know that the AASL and SLMS are working on behalf of school librarians throughout New York.

I attended some very good sessions, and learned alot.  Since I don’t have a library to try out these new ideas, tips, and tools, I am trying to organize them for future reference.  I’m using delicious.com to organize websites and links.  I’m using some different Google Tools that I learned about in a presentation on that same topic.  I may even do a write up of the highlights of my sessions here – stay tuned.

I’m looking forward to Buffalo 2011!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

