Skip to content

Going back to Binghamton University!

September 10, 2009

One of the assignments for my 605 course is to observe at a reference desk for a minimum of five hours this semester, and to interview a reference librarian who works at that site. Since I am in the school media program and will be spending 100 hours of fieldwork and 300 hours of student-teaching in school libraries, I did not want to choose a school library for this assignment. I graduated from Binghamton in 1994, and haven’t been back to the library at all – the thought of going back there was very appealing. I still live close enough for this to be a convenient location, so I was hoping that this would work out.

I left a voicemail for the Director of Research, Informational and Instructional Services, and would have been happy if I got a call by the end of the week. I was pleasantly surprised when she called me back within a half-hour, and was very enthusiastic about having me come to observe at their reference desk. Her enthusiasm was contagious, and I am very excited to start on this assignment.

We learned about library space in 511, and discussed the idea of a learning commons that is becoming pretty prevalent. Ms. McManus told me that the reference area in Bartle is now a learning commons environment, and I am excited to see it. As a commuter student at BU, I spent hour upon hour at Bartle between classes. I remember trying to find a comfortable chair (or if you were lucky, a couch!), and eating my contraband lunch while reading or studying. I very rarely ventured in to the reference area, which in memory was a somewhat unapproachable place – in fact, I can only recall actually using the reference services once, while working on a paper on Catherine the Great.

I am looking forward to seeing reference work in action, and to seeing how the library has embraced this “commons” feel.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 10, 2009 4:52 pm

    We're looking forward to meeting you. – Alesia

Leave a Reply

