Skip to content

IST 612 – Day 4

July 31, 2009

Before I wax poetic about class today, I just have one minor announcement – TOMORROW IS THE LAST DAY!! I GET TO GO HOME!! Yes, I did go home last weekend, but it really was a lost weekend. I was so exhausted and had a migraine, that I really didn’t feel like I did anything at all. Plus, I knew I had to leave again on Sunday, so I didn’t even unpack. Tomorrow is the last day of my 2-week residency, and I can’t wait to go home!

Surprisingly, I will miss the total immersion into library school that I’ve experienced over the past two weeks. It’s been a great introduction to the program, I’ve met some really great people that I hope to keep in touch with going forward. I’ve felt like a real grad student, which is a huge shift from being at home with three kids – it’s been great to use my brain for higher level thinking again. I’ve felt like a part of the iSchool, which is a really great place! I won’t miss the 6 am construction or the huge windows right outside the shower stalls, but I do take fond memories of “Boot Camp” with me.

Today we did book evaluations on some of the literally hundreds of books that Barbara brought to our class. It was a lot of fun looking through them all, and deciding which ones we liked and which ones we did. It was also great to see what other groups thought – I was in agreement with just about every book that was discussed. The majority of our classroom time was taken up by our student presentations of the booktalking assignment. This was my favorite part of the class so far. I think everyone did a great job today, because there are so many books that are on my TO READ LIST. I’m looking forward to the remainder of the presentations tomorrow.

I’m all packed, and ready for tomorrow!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

