Skip to content

IST 511 – Day Three

July 23, 2009

Disclaimer: I will not disclose my age in this post. But I will tell you that in both group projects I have been involved in here at Syracuse, I have been the oldest member of the group. One of my current partners is 20 yrs old. 20!!! I have a Gap jean jacket that is older than she is. The challenge in this is an issue that I think will occur in libraries for years to come – digital natives vs. digital immigrants, and how to accommodate both.

I will fully admit to being a digital immigrant, although gadgets and technology have been part of my life for a long time. One of the coolest Christmas presents I can still remember getting was a Speak and Spell – this cool mini-computer type thing that would ask you to spell a word, and then correct you if you misspelled said word. I used to play with that thing for hours, and for its time (late 70’s) it was pretty darn interactive.

Fast forward almost 30 yrs (see, I am giving you clues) and I am the lone member of my group without a laptop. I take notes in class by hand, because when I physically write something I tend to learn it better – that’s just my learning style. One of my group partners saw my hand-written notes, and thought that was the cutest thing. I felt like a little, old lady at that moment. Maybe my learning style will always be based in writing because that’s what I did back in the day, but I know I’ll be integrating technology into my life more and more going through this program.

Yesterday, the Parade of Librarians came through in the form of a Systems Librarian Panel. I can honestly say that although that side of librarianship sounds very interesting, I don’t think it is for me. When I worked for AT&T Wireless, I probably could’ve gone in to this side of things much more easily. I just don’t know if I want to do all the networking/interconnectivity stuff that this job sounds like it would entail.

The second half of our day, however, was absolutely fascinating. We went to the book preservation/conservation areas, and then spent time in the rare book room. I was enthralled watching the book repair people do their craft. The rare books were so embedded in history, and Professor Lavender literally took my breath away when he revealed some of the books! What a wonderful side of librarianship to be able to see.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

