Skip to content

IST 601 and beyond!

July 20, 2009

Last night I finished my first class at the iSchool. I was extremely nervous and anxious before I started, since I’ve been out of any type of school for a long time and have also been out of the workforce for 10 years. Would I be able to keep up with the technology? Would I be able to keep up with the workload? Would I be able to write something scholarly after writing mostly field trip permission slips for the last several years?

I’m happy to say that despite feeling like I was going to throw up for almost the last week, I made it through. I learned about change and innovation. We had a 3-5 page paper, and we did a group presentation. For all the work that was involved in a one-credit class, it was definitely worth it. The assignments we worked on helped lay the groundwork of the expectations here at the iSchool. The constructive criticism we received on our assignments will stay with me until things become more second nature for me. Using 601 terminology, I will continue to utilize the feedback until I become immersed in the organizational culture of the iSchool.

I have met so many interesting people the past three days. We had a group presentation, and the people in my group were unknown to me when we assembled. We managed to do a great presentation, and get to know each other a bit more. As great as the program is here at the iSchool, the people are just as great.

Today we start IST511, and instead of being anxious I feel a little bit better about going in to this class. I have that one credit under my belt, and I’m moving forward!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

